Review. Parfait By Affinitas, Jeanie Plunge Molded Padded Bra

This is my second attempt to get comfortable and good fitting nude molded plunge. I’ve bought this bra for $34.99 from e-bay (looks like I tend to buy most of my bras there, can’t resist much lower prices).

Jeanie is one of those bras that embody pure functionality. It allows you to wear deep V necklines (U not so deep), it doesn’t show under thin jersey, it’s good under a little bit transparent fabrics like thin cotton. And that’s it.

Jeanie Plunge. Front view

Jeanie Plunge. Front view

Jeanie Plunge. Profile

Jeanie Plunge. Profile

It resembles Freya Deco in many ways (shape, thickness of padding, overall construction), but has wider wires. This means that it’s not the best bra for a hot weather especially if heat combined with high humidity because padding is quite thick.

Good things about this bra:

Sturdy full band with side boning. Stable and secure. It’s brand new, so I can’t say for sure how it behaves with wear and tear, but it looks like it’s not stretchy. Wings are made from powermesh, which is usually good, as it’s breathable. It’s two rows of hooks, but it’s quite wide.

Jeanie Plunge. Wings.

Fully adjustable straps.

It gives nicely rounded shape.

Beige is a neutral shade (I hate when it’s sort of yellowish).

Things about this bra, that definitely good for me, but can be showstopper if you have different breast shape:

It has quite wide wires. In my book it’s awesome. Compared to the wires of Panache Porcelain Plunge they are about 1/4″ shorter on the side while being the same width. So no crease under the root and wire comfortably goes directly under the root.

Straps are fully adjustable, but I (5’6″ to 5’7″ depending of time of the day) have to shorten them a lot, shorter girls could have problems with them I assume.

Cups are quite open and center gore is really low, so if you have softer breast tissue you can experience spillage toward the center in this bra.

I’m not sure about cleavage. I have none. But the truth is it’s hard to get with my shape and size.

Things about this bra, that definitely not so good for me, but can be good for you if you have different breast shape:

From bratabase measurements it seems shallow, which isn’t really true. The reason for this is that supposed apex is higher than ends of the wires, so it’s hard to measure cup depth. I think that it would fit ok girls who have more depth than me.

Basically IMO this bra is a little bit to big in the cup for me, but one size smaller would be too narrow and too small overall. Right now there is no gaping, but it’s hell a lot of a bra. This makes Jeanie ideal for bloating days. So I’m going to keep it.

Here you can see how much deeper Jeanie is then Panache Porcelain Plunge. Both bras are 32E

Here you can see how much deeper Jeanie is than Panache Porcelain Plunge. Both bras are 32E

Not so good:

I don’t like how straps are attached, but it’s not visible even under thin jersey. Consider this a pet peeve.

Isn't it sloppy?

Isn’t it sloppy?

And frankly they are plain ugly. I don’t mind visible straps most of the time, but these I’m going to keep hidden.

Strap close up

Strap close up

Fit on me.

As you can see it’s pretty good under my test-the-shape turtleneck ). And it’s comfortable!

Love the shape

Love the shape (don’t pay attention to the tag, please)

4 thoughts on “Review. Parfait By Affinitas, Jeanie Plunge Molded Padded Bra

  1. Mara

    I am looking for a good nude t-shirt bra, so it’s great that you have reviewed this and the Porcelaine too!
    I am not a great fan of padded bras because I live in warm weather, but there’s not many unpadded/unmoulded tshirt bras in larger cups!

    Reply
    1. nothingeverfits Post author

      Thank you!
      Yeah… this is the problem: it’s more simple to buy a bra that all bright colors, lace and satin than a plain and simple, but comfortable and breathable bra with zero show through factor.
      Don’t get me wrong, it’s great that we have colors, lace, prints and so on, I like that very much, but it’s kind of hard to find a bra that is good for office. I think for cooler months Jeanie is a practically perfect option for me, but not for summer, when it hits 90F almost every day and sometimes 100F. I really need something more lightweight, so I’m with you on this quest!

      Reply
  2. faustineli

    ” if you have softer breast tissue you can experience spillage toward the center in this bra.”

    This! I have this happen in Jeanie, but not with Deco. I will take another look at the cup shapes and try to figure out why.

    Reply
    1. nothingeverfits Post author

      To me Deco cups look more rounded and close together, And for Ashlee I can say that cup edge feels less flimsy (but I’m not really sure about regular Deco). And Panache Porcelain Plunge is a good example of bra in which this rounded shape/cups close/reinforced cup edge is on extreme.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

